Skip to Content


Organizational Structure

Print ForwardText size:

Organizational Structure

  • One Director General, one Deputy Director General, one Chief Secretary; four operational units, namely the Integrated Planning Division, the Environmental Planning Division, the Recreation Management Division, and the Conservation and Interpretation Division; four administrative units, including the Secretariat, the Personnel Office, the Civil Service Ethics Office, and the Accounting Office.
  • Integrated Planning Division: National Park Planning Section, Coastal Planning Section, Wetland Planning Section. Responsibilities include policy development, regulations, selection, delineation, modification, and abolishment of boundaries for national parks, national nature parks, wetlands, and coastal areas. It is also responsible for the formulation, amendment, and review of plans related to national parks, national nature parks, wetland conservation and utilization, comprehensive coastal management, and coastal protection.
  • Environmental Planning Division: Planning and Management Section, Environmental Engineering Section, Environmental Information Section. Responsibilities include mid-term and annual project planning and annual policy plans for national parks, national nature parks, and wetlands, as well as operational plans of national parks and national nature parks. Its purview also includes the promotion of initiatives related to public safety, comprehensive services, habitat restoration, landscape restoration, conservation and recreational facilities, environmental maintenance, architectural management, disaster prevention information development and application, and other information management matters. It is also responsible for meetings, discussions, parliamentary liaison, media relations, and inspection affairs.
  • Recreation Management Division Recreation Services and Disaster Management Section, Indigenous Peoples and Partnership Section. Responsibilities include managing recreation services and eco-tourism in national parks, national nature parks, and wetlands, as well as the construction and promotion of recreation service systems of mountainous areas and waters, promotion of recreation safety, and the coordination, promotion, and supervision of disaster prevention and emergency response. In addition, it also integrates local community residents, indigenous peoples, and domestic non-governmental organizations to participate in the planning and promotion of the sustainable and co-prosperity development of national parks, national nature parks, wetlands, and coastal areas.
  • Conservation and Interpretation Division: Conservation Research and International Cooperation Section; Interpretation, Education, and Human Resource Development Section. Responsibilities include conducting research on the natural and cultural resources of national parks, national nature parks, wetlands, and coastal areas; the promotion of domestic and foreign biological science research bases, and the establishment and application of biodiversity databases. In addition, the division is responsible for the promotion of interpretation and education policies and systems, environmental ethics, all-age-inclusive environmental education, volunteer service policies and systems, human resources training and promotion, and international exchanges.
  • Secretariat: Administration of clerical, archival, printing, cashiering, financial, business, procurement, and other affairs.
  • Personnel Office: Handling of human resource-related matters.
  • Civil Service Ethics Office: Handling of civil ethics-related matters.
  • Accounting Office: Handling of accounting-related matters.

The National Park Service has eight national park headquarters under its purview, including Kenting, Yushan, Yangmingshan, Taroko, Shei-Pa, Kinmen, Marine, and Taijiang, as well as one National Nature Park Headquarters. In addition, the National Park Service also handles administrative duties of the National Parks Planning Committee, the Major Wetlands Review Committee, and the Coastal Management Review Committee.